General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Hanging them Up - This time for good

Search this Thread

Old 03-19-2013 | 07:38 PM
lencap
|
Cruiser
Default Hanging them Up - This time for good

I want to thank all of you on this forum. Throughout the years you've provided friendship, advice and expertise. When I had questions you patiently answered them, when I was down, you lifted me back up, and when I was ready to quit you told me to hang in there and think it through.

I've been riding for over 40 years. I've owned Honda, Yamaha, BMW, Ducati, MV Agusta and very late in life Harley motorcycles. Since finding that the main reason I never owned a Harley was related to misconceptions and not facts, I've owned a 2008 Anniversary Sportster, 2011 Heritage Classic, 2009 Softail Deluxe, and a 2006 Street Rod. Each was wonderful, and each put a smile on my face on every ride. I would never have experienced any of these fine machines without the help of this forum.

And now, as I prepare for the upcoming riding season, I've just returned from a 60 mile evening ride and realize that my skills have indeed fallen from what they were, that my night vision isn't as good as it once was, that "cagers" drive even more aggressively and without attention to others than they did last year. For the first time in my riding career I was uncomfortable on my bike. That's a feeling I never expected to have, but I experienced it tonight.

And so, after "retiring" from riding at least twice in the past, this time seems like the real deal. I'm going to "hang them up". I've written something similar in the past, and every spring I get the bug to ride again, but today was different. Today the limiting factor isn't desire, it's a lower skill level. And that is something that causes doubt in my own ability. And that is why I'm going to stop riding.