General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Why I will start wearing a helmet

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2007, 02:36 AM
RenoRainesRenegade
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Why I will start wearing a helmet

First off, I am only sharing my thoughts, I am not trying topreach and most definitely am nottrying to convert anyone to my way of thinking. The freedom to choose is what makes America great.
I live in a state where helmets are optional for those over 18 and those with one year of experience, and other than helmetstates andrainnormally I go without a lid. It is not any kind of macho thing, I justabsolutely love the feeling of riding lidless. I have been riding since only 1993, not terribly long,and I ride very defensively. I have been fortunate in that I have never been ina wreck while on my bike, have never had to lay it down, never hit a deer, etc.
Last Sunday I was with my older sister when she died in the hospital at age54. Her condition was not the result of a bike accident. At the end she was terminal and, even thought she hada living will, thedocs askedme what to do, since I had herhealth care power of attorney. After talking it over with the rest of the family, Idecided to abide by her wishes and to unhook the machines.That decision, even though objectively it was the right thing to do, was justgut wrenching, like hammer blows,and something I would not wish on my worst enemy. Afterward, I was numb, and maybe still am to a degree. My parents, ages 93 and 85, are devastated at her death, especially my mom. Anyone who has gone through that situation knows what I mean when I say that gets you to thinking andcan change a person very easily. In her case, she deteriorated very quickly and they ended upturning off the ventilator just before she died, so the decision I made was renderedmoot. But it was a decision I and my family still had to make.