General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2001 Sportster Help!

Search this Thread

Old 01-16-2013, 11:00 AM
Beerown
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2001 Sportster Help!

Hi Everybody,

I'm a newbie living in Austin, TX. I have ridden my friends' 883 and 1200 Sportsters before, but they were both 2006 models.

I'm getting my first bike and have found a 2001 xl1200s with 35k miles that is awesome looking. It fits me great (I am 6'4", 225 lbs.) actually better than a lot of bigger bikes I've been on.

I need help though. I've got the price down to $3,850 before tax, and the mechanic there put a new battery, belt, and carb on it about a month ago. Here's the problem: It is cold out right now and they hadn't started it in 3 weeks - so it took a few tries to start even with full choke. Then when it was warm, I tried to start it again and apparently I flooded the thing.

The salesman told me there is a trick to starting older Sportsters. Is he yanking my chain? Or is this true?

I'm looking to commute on this bike so I really would like it to be reliable. Is this going to be a reliable bike? Apparently it belonged to an older man who rode it 35k miles between '01-'06 and then let it sit for 6 years before selling it. That kind of worries me.

Any help/advice you can give on what is likely to go wrong with this bike, what the next thing I will need to fix might be and when, what kind of regular maintenance I need to do, etc. I really like this bike and want to get it, I just don't want it to be a money pit.

Thank you all, and I'm happy to be a part of the forum.

Sean

Old 01-16-2013, 01:53 PM
skratch
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 4,357 Likes on 2,536 Posts

i've got an 02 sporty and there definitely is a trick to starting it when its cold. it will just take some getting used to for you to learn the 'trick' for that particular bike.