General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Heated gear

Search this Thread

Old 12-28-2012, 10:27 AM
Bob D'Amico
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Heated gear

Is anyone using dual source heated gear?I want to buy Gerbings Hybrid Vest to use on my bike and also to wear in other activities.

Old 12-28-2012, 01:00 PM
lffl
Stage IV

Not exactly what you mean by dual source heated G. I'm assuming your talking plug in & battery option. I live in NY & have been using Gerbings H.G. for about 4 years now. My advice is go with the full jacket. You get heat in the arms & also you get built in wires at the end of the sleeves for gloves. I have been riding for over 40 years & I can say with out doubt it makes riding a 12 month thing. Last winter we took a ride to PA on a 27 degree tay & it never went over 30 the whole day & I can actually say the only time your cold is when your off the bike. I have the jacket , gloves & last year I bought the gerbings heated foot pads. I ride a Road King & found that by using the leather type lowers that slide over the front crash bars & good long johns & felt lined pants the heated pants aren't necessary. That might not be the case for everyone but for me it works & I ride in 15 to 20 degree temps. I don't have the type of gear that will take Batteries though. It would be nice I guess if you needed them for other things besides riding. Also I found through trial & error that following the instructions about only wearing one thin layer under the heated gear is the only way to go. You can put as much as you like on over the heated gear but you want that heat to not have to work so hard to get to you, so a thin T shirt turtle neck long sleeves shirt is all you need between you & the gear. You'll be riding down the road at 70 MPH & you'll feel the heat just warming your whole body. My only regret is I waited 40 years LOL

Old 12-28-2012, 01:46 PM