General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Old Gas... What should be done before starting...

Search this Thread

Old 10-29-2012, 06:48 PM
M.T.1
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Old Gas... What should be done before starting...

New here and just picked up my first Harley. I bought a real nice 04 Road King with 6000 original miles on it. Super clean and super stock. Problem is its has been sitting for at least 3 years with gas in the tank. It smells really old but hasn't turned to varnish yet. Being it is a fuel injected bike I was wondering what I should do besides drain and refill with new fuel. Was planning on pulling the plugs and lubing the cylinders with WD40 or something similar. Is there a fuel filter in the tank that should be replaced?

I have extensive wrenching experience so I will be doing this myself... Any help or advise would be appreciated.

Old 10-29-2012, 07:13 PM
MNPGRider
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 65 Likes on 51 Posts

Is the tank full? If not, I would top it off with the highest octane available, drive it down a quarter tank, top it off again, repeat several times. If you can drain it first, that's a big plus. Add some OMC Engine Tuner (available at any marine dealer) to clean up the injectors and fuel lines. That is what is used by many marine dealers to get boat engines running that have sat with old gas.

My Yamaha XS1100 sat for a year after I had back surgery in '94, and gummed up the carbs. The OMC Engine Tuner cleaned them right out. I was given that tip by a fellow MSF instructor who ran a small engine repair shop.

Old 10-29-2012, 07:15 PM
piasspj
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 339 Likes on 195 Posts

If you want to lube the cylinders Marvels Mystery Oil is good. I'd drain the tank, fill with fresh gas and add some Seafoam (you can also add some MMO to the gas).