General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Solo or with a crowd?

Search this Thread

Old 07-25-2012 | 07:02 AM
Iron Horse Biker
|
Former Sponsor
Default Solo or with a crowd?

Just out of curiosity, can I get some thoughts on riding solo versus in tandem or with a group? Of course there are variables, but we're talking generally. Personally, when I just want to clear my head or feel like kicking it, I prefer not having to coordinate or communicate with someone else. Thoughts?

Old 07-25-2012 | 07:20 AM
rpbrown
Road Warrior

Outside of my family, there are only about 4 people that I will ride in a group with and thats because I have been riding with them for 20+ years.
Group riding, IMHO, is the most dangerous type of street riding, especially if you are not familiar with the people and their habits that you ride with.
Thats the main reason I don't do large toy runs. Seems like every year there is a crash in one of these.

Old 07-25-2012 | 09:31 AM
Araba Shriner
Road Master

I actually dont mind group riding, as long as Im familiar with the riders within it. We have a descent group here that ride every sunday. Hand picked riders, who know what they are doing, and respect each other as a group.

Old 07-25-2012 | 09:49 AM
bkelly1956
Tourer

Most of our riding just me and wife. We also have a friend who rides like we do. He will come with us some of the time. We do just a few group things like a toy run or benefit ride. Have not had any bad experience with the group situations, but prefer just us...going where and when we prefer.

Old 07-25-2012 | 09:49 AM
deadhawg
Stellar HDF Member
Veteran: Navy

95% of the time I prefer riding solo or with just my wife, on her own bike. We have a few friends we will ride with occasionally. I do not like to ride with people I don't know.

I will do 2-3 large group rides a year, a toy run, one other charity run, and one in support of our troops.