General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

The Road to Harley Ownership!!

Search this Thread

Old 05-04-2012, 11:14 PM
gatrgurl
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default The Road to Harley Ownership!!

I'm so excited. I have a red 2012 Dyna Switchback reserved for rental at my local Hardley dealership tomorrow. I'm as nervous as a new bride. I currently ride a Kawasaki 900 Custom. The Switchback is considerably heavier, and it's a Harley (maybe no major differences, but lots of suttle changes). I'm renting first to help make the decision for purchase. I won't purchase until I know it's a fit and I can handle the weight. Everyone keep your fingers and toes crossed that this works out! I've got about 10 years of riding experience, and almost 100k miles under my belt. I just keep telling myself I'll be ok. Opinions please...

Old 05-04-2012, 11:34 PM
ghostrider69
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts

If you can ride a bicycle then you can ride a Harley.

Old 05-04-2012, 11:43 PM
gatrgurl
Cruiser

Funny that you mention riding a bicycle. When I got my first bike and finally got on the open road, if I made anything resembling a mistake...my husband would take me home and put me on a bicycle and make me repeat the skill until he was satisfied that I was proficient. Today I'm grateful, then I was livid. But his craziness strengthened my riding skills, and I do realize that's what was important.

Old 05-04-2012, 11:50 PM
09FLHT
Banned
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I think people tend to over think the whole thing. if your big enough to hold it up then act like its a **** commercial.

<edit>Holy **** what is going on. That bleeped word is N.....i.....k.....e. Why in hell would that get bleeped?

Last edited by 09FLHT; 05-04-2012 at 11:52 PM.
Old 05-04-2012, 11:58 PM
Shredding rubber
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts