General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Is this basketcase worth rejuvenating for a novice wrench like me?

Search this Thread

Old 04-16-2012, 01:38 AM
baka1969
Extreme HDF Member

Received 705 Likes on 467 Posts
Default Is this basketcase worth rejuvenating for a novice wrench like me?

http://southjersey.craigslist.org/mcy/2951869556.html

I came across this Ironhead on CL and was wondering if it was worth all the trouble and effort to turn this rusty and non running '69 Ironhead into something special? I guess I looked mostly because it's from the year I was born.

I'm a novice wrench. I once did a 883 to 1200 conversion a while back. But it was done with instructions I read off the web and not really because I had a true understanding. It took me quite a while and lots of cursing. I can do my own maintenance. But this seems to be on a whole new level. I wouldn't even know where to start. Hell, I have no idea how much of the bike is worth salvaging. Or where to get all the parts it might need to get it close to original condition.

I think the price is a bit high for it's condition but that's always negotiable. So what does everyone think? Is it worth doing for a novice? Or would I be in over my head? Or is this Ironhead beyond redemption? Thanks.

Old 04-16-2012, 01:49 AM
TwiZted Biker
Club Member
Received 48,984 Likes on 17,897 Posts

About $1500 to high price wise and a lot of money to be spent to get it back decent shape , the old mag sporties need a real mechanic and TLC to be faithful to you they are not a novice toy from my point of view . It's spring time everybody is wanting retirement money for everything bide your time and keep looking as prices get a little more real , you can find running shovels $4000 still and you'll be much happier .

Old 04-16-2012, 01:50 AM
imboden
Stellar HDF Member
Received 94 Likes on 57 Posts