Notices
General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Retro Fit Transmissions

Search this Thread

Old 04-12-2012, 12:45 AM
john1dup
Novice
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Retro Fit Transmissions

I'm new to restoring old Harley's, it took me 61 years to get my 72 FLH.
I went looking for a retro fit 5 speed trans for my bike, and got some good feed-back here on forum.
Then I found that RevTech has a very well priced "5-Speed in a 4-Speed Case with Kicker" when I e-mailed a couple of vendor's to ask what the ratio: of the 5th gear was I was told "
Thank for checking with us, we contacted the manufacturer they do not have that information avail. Sorry."
I've never been asked to lay out a grand + and not know what I'm getting !
Is this the norm when trying to research and buy parts? ( I don't think so)
John

Old 04-12-2012, 12:57 AM
TwiZted Biker
Club Member
Received 48,965 Likes on 17,891 Posts

Why do you want to to go 5 speed ? The final ratio is the same on both the 4 and the 5 so you don't gain anything but a lot money spent and mod's to a nice bike , you'd have to go a 6 sp to get a real change . Just change up the 1st-2nd ratios a bit higher and that will close the gap on the 2nd to 3rd clunk very nicely for under $300 . Plus a kicker is still a great thing to have on older iron if for nothing else the cool factor in a crowd .

PS stay far away from anything Rev Tech for a shovlehead that stuff is junk .

Old 04-12-2012, 04:06 AM
pococj
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 1,296 Likes on 483 Posts

If you are looking for a good tranny other than a stocker, go to Baker.

Old 04-12-2012, 07:46 AM
dgdamore
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts

I ran a Sputhe 5 speed for almost 15 years in an old 4 speed wideglide. Totally bullet proof. Never had a problem with it. Fifth gear was 1:1.

Old 04-12-2012, 09:05 AM
68 Shovelking
Tourer
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts