General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Who's satisfied with factory bikes?

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2012, 09:54 PM
1roadcaptain
6th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Who's satisfied with factory bikes?

I’ve been riding Harley Davidson’s for nearly 30 years. My first one which I still have, had to be chromed out. I soon learned the old adage that chrome don’t get you home. There is a lot of truth in that as I know from experience. It has had all the good goodies in it now and has had for many years. Probably for more than most people on this forum. No offence meant for the old salt’s. But a old friend of mine bought a 82 Sturgis from my sister that was like new and rode the **** out of it and put over 75k miles on it and the only thing we ever did to it other than wear items was replace the voltage regulator. I rode this bike for over a year on occasions before my friend bought it to keep the battery charged for her. I said back then “If I ever get a factory new Harley I aint messin’ with it!” Well that time has passed several times over! Over the last twenty years I’ve owned three new Harley’s, countless miles, and never been stranded. I’m happy with a near factory scoot. As for my new 2012 Ultra Limited I must admit I did upgrade the sound system and had the dealer throw in a front bumper, after all there is one on the rear so why not have one on the front. So from my experience more changes seems to bring more problems, so I’m satisfied with my stock scooters. My .02 cents worth.

Old 02-12-2012, 10:05 PM
Blackfly
Road Master
Received 40 Likes on 7 Posts

me. but I don't really have anything to compare 'em with.

Last edited by Blackfly; 02-12-2012 at 10:08 PM.
Old 02-12-2012, 10:11 PM
KBFXDLI
Big Kahuna HDF Member
Received 32 Likes on 29 Posts

Originally Posted by 1roadcaptain
I said back then “If I ever get a factory new Harley I aint messin’ with it!”