General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Helmet. Which do you prefer?

Search this Thread

Old 02-07-2012, 09:03 AM
Longhair4life
Extreme HDF Member
Received 13 Likes on 13 Posts
Default Helmet. Which do you prefer?

I live in a state where helmets are required by law. I have been wearing novelity helmets for the last 17 years but thinking about going to a bell custom 500. I have a question for those of you who wear open face DOT helmets. Does your head get blown back in the wind or do you have a sore neck after a long ride? If you live in a required state do you prefer Novelity helmets or DOT and why?
Thanks

Old 02-07-2012, 09:08 AM
KBFXDLI
Big Kahuna HDF Member
Received 32 Likes on 29 Posts

I prefer a 3/4 with a face shield. HJC makes the Harley ones and you can get a decent price here:

http://www.helmetcity.com/

I just bought a FF HJC as well. But I need some type of face shield.

Old 02-07-2012, 09:09 AM
junior07
Road Master
Received 89 Likes on 52 Posts

Daytona Skull Cap, 1/2 helmet.

http://www.daytonahelmets.com/home/d...ile_specs.html

I have tried dozens of helmets. I have a small head, and this one fits the best and does not ride up or put a strain on my neck.

My state requires DOT, I have friends who ride novelty, I just dont want to run the risk.

-

Last edited by junior07; 02-07-2012 at 09:12 AM.
Old 02-07-2012, 09:12 AM
HarleyRanger
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I live in a helmet state. In summer I wear a DOT approved HCI half helmet. Colder weather I wear a SHARK modular style helmet.
No sore neck our head blown back with either helmet but then I have a good windshield that pushes the wind up over head.

Old 02-07-2012, 09:33 AM
wyndnface
Extreme HDF Member
Received 1,132 Likes on 1,056 Posts

Check these out.

http://store.justifieddefiance.com/h...eatured&page=2