General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Question about shifting into 1st gear.......

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2012, 01:11 PM
HDmikie
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 112 Likes on 88 Posts
Default Question about shifting into 1st gear.......

Did a search and didn't find anything so thought I'd toss it out here. Do you guys shift into first gear while you're still moving or wait until you come to a stop? I know I can shift my Fatboy into first gear while moving but it seems to work pretty hard. Thanks!

Last edited by HDmikie; 01-21-2012 at 09:28 AM. Reason: Add a couple words.
Old 01-15-2012, 01:14 PM
K Melancon
Road Warrior
Received 132 Likes on 92 Posts

I always down shift into 1st before coming to a stop. If I'm doing something wrong I've been doing it for 30 years.

Old 01-15-2012, 01:26 PM
CBRAV0810
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I shift down to first also unless I've needed to stop quickly or some reason. I guess those times I'm guilty of engaging clutch and free wheeling the bike. I also wait to see if the person behind me is actually gonna to stop before shifting into neutral if my hands need a break.

Old 01-15-2012, 01:37 PM
Wide_Open
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 149 Likes on 83 Posts

I shift into 1st before I come to a stop. Once I'm safely covered from the back I'll shift into neutral if it's going to be a bit.

Old 01-15-2012, 01:46 PM
dieselguy65
Tourer
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts