General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

MMI/UTI School?

Search this Thread

Old 01-11-2012, 11:09 PM
MadMartigan
6th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default MMI/UTI School?

I am new to riding and recently purchased my 2011 Iron 883. I have absolutely fallen in love with riding and have found a new lifelong passion.

That said, I have a full-time career and have no interest in getting work in the auto technician field, however want a way to learn about motorcycle repair form the ground up. I have no mechanical background and do not even know how to change my oil. Is MMI a good option for someone like me, or do you recommend a more economic solution?

Old 01-11-2012, 11:11 PM
PhD
Advanced

MMI is a full-time deal. It's not something you do on evenings and weekends.

Old 01-11-2012, 11:29 PM
purpledeuce
Elite HDF Member
Received 642 Likes on 377 Posts

Get a service manual and a good set of tools

Old 01-11-2012, 11:44 PM
mglax13
Road Master
Received 32 Likes on 27 Posts

Originally Posted by purpledeuce
Get a service manual and a good set of tools
+1. I think if you start with your bike and work on some small things initially (like bolting on some basic aesthetic parts), then work up to an oil change, maybe install an exhaust, and air cleaner, etc, and before you know it, you'll be installing cams and doing your own 883-1200 conversion.

That service manual is really like a how-to guide, and there's always the fine and knowledgeable folks on here to answer your questions.

Go to Sears and get yourself one of the basic like 100 pc craftsman tool sets, make sure you have hex and torx bits for your ratchet (at least I know on the big twins, they're heavily used, I'd have to imagine the same for the sporty's), and add on to your tools as the need comes up.