General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

question about the new 103 engine

Search this Thread

Old 12-24-2011 | 05:59 PM
justine120
|
Advanced
Default question about the new 103 engine

this may be a dumb question, but i'm still learning...

does the new 103ci engine mean that the bikes don't need to have stage 1 done after market? or does that mean that the bike can still have this done? thanks for any help guys...

Old 12-24-2011 | 06:09 PM
jmorganroadglide
Big Kahuna HDF Member

you will get a lot of replies, but you can really perk this baby up. This engine will run really lean to meet EPA standards.

Old 12-24-2011 | 06:22 PM
Wide_Open
Ultimate HDF Member

In my opinion stage 1 is a must on both the 103 and 110.

Old 12-24-2011 | 06:25 PM
barjbar
Elite HDF Member

Because theses engines have catalytic converters, they aren't tuned as lean to meet emission laws. I have not had the stage 1 done on my EG and it runs better than any stock engine I've had. Those that have had the stage 1 performed say the power difference is minimum but the engine runs cooler.

Old 12-24-2011 | 09:23 PM
wcsj55@yahoo.com
Extreme HDF Member

Originally Posted by barjbar
Because theses engines have catalytic converters, they aren't tuned as lean to meet emission laws.
Wrong here,these engines are tuned very lean to meet Exhaust Emissions.

Old 12-25-2011 | 12:42 AM
dpk20x
Tourer

Originally Posted by justine120
this may be a dumb question, but i'm still learning...

does the new 103ci engine mean that the bikes don't need to have stage 1 done after market? or does that mean that the bike can still have this done? thanks for any help guys...