General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

First Gear vs Gerbing's vs HD Heated clothing

Search this Thread

Old 10-20-2011, 04:46 PM
TORQUEY
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 175 Likes on 127 Posts
Default First Gear vs Gerbing's vs HD Heated clothing

Which is better, and for what reasons?

I have no experience and am looking for input on what to get as the pumpkin is soon to be frosty. Thanks.

Old 10-20-2011, 05:28 PM
mcrider1
Road Warrior
Received 17 Likes on 17 Posts

First Gear is the same as Warm & Safe, W&S makes the best contollers, their controllers are made in the USA. Their new remote controller is the cats meow!
HD heated gear is made by Gerbings and usually cost a little more than Gerbings just because of the HD label. Gerbings controllers are made in China.
Both W&S & Gerbings are good, I prefer the W&S myself. Most here will tell you to go with Gerbing.
www.warmnsafe.com

Old 10-20-2011, 05:39 PM
wlbowers
Stellar HDF Member

Received 101 Likes on 44 Posts

Gerbing makes Harley. I just started collecting heated gear.

Harley and Gerbing both have a lifetime warranty on the heating elements. Not sure about others.

I just bought a pair of the paints liners from Harley. Got them for $146. They list for $179. I got a discount for being in the MVP program.

I know they are suppose to be pants liners but I use them as over pants.

I have gloves, vest and socks. In the process of wiring my Heritage for it. I'm putting switchcraft panel mount connectors in the side on the console.

Use them to go to work. Got them on a Heat-Troller dual. ( a must for comfort). I loved them.

You can use Harley, Gerbing, or Heat-Troller controllers. They use the same connections. 2.5mm x 5mm. So you can mix gear.

Last edited by wlbowers; 10-20-2011 at 05:42 PM.
Old 10-20-2011, 07:55 PM
TORQUEY
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 175 Likes on 127 Posts