Notices
General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Does anyone not consider their bike a toy?

Search this Thread

Old 08-17-2011, 09:42 PM
gus4440
Road Captain
Received 63 Likes on 25 Posts
Default Does anyone not consider their bike a toy?

I see people refer to their bikes as toys on this board a lot. And the bikes are the first things to get liquidated when money gets tight. It seems like their boats, sports cars,SUVs, and 4WD trucks come first. I started riding dirt bikes at 10 and when I got my liscense at 15 my bike quit being just a toy and became transportation too. Since then I have been without a four wheeler at times, but always maintained one or more two wheelers. Motorcycles have always been a big part of my life, through marrige, divorce, child raising, and job loss. I never considered being bikeless. I don't care what anybody says, without a bike you are not a biker. I get a laugh from bike ads when the seller has had the bike less than nine months and is selling because there is a child on the way. Did'nt they know that before buying the bike? Or selling because of marrige. If they need the money that bad they are not financially able to get married yet in my opinion. I think what happens sometimes is a person watches those biker build offs and SOA, buys a bike, realizes it isn't as easy as it looked on TV. Then gets a scare or crashes, parks it in the garage, then decides to sell it "because I'm just not riding it anymore" and won't admit he is afraid of it maybe biking is not for them . Maybe it would have been different if they would have learned the basics on a small bike first instead of buying the biggest most expensive bike they could afford. Or maybe they are bored and are moving to the next big thing..

Old 08-17-2011, 09:47 PM
Kowan
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts