General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Newbie and Lane Sharing in L.A.

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-2011, 01:39 AM
bleachbro
Novice
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie and Lane Sharing in L.A.

I'm new to riding, and have been helped a ton by this forum. I've got about 550 miles experience since April.

I take heed to the advice around here about riding within my comfort level, and ignoring the temptation to do things beyond my confidence level. Even when traffic slows down on the 101, I do not have the moxy to lane share (even though it's perfectly legal). As a result I am routinely passed by more experienced riders on bigger bikes who make it look so easy.

I am committed to being safe and staying within my skills - but I'm just curious - what is your experience regarding learning to share lanes? Does it just "happen" one day once you've been riding enough? Thanks for your thoughts!

Old 07-29-2011, 01:51 AM
jamminjim
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Do NOT try to lane share . You don't have the experince to try it yet. You should wait till you have a hell of alot more miles. Watch those other people. You might learn something.

Old 07-29-2011, 02:04 AM
joe.1955
Stellar HDF Member
Received 77 Likes on 47 Posts

I love to lane split when I ride in California, but pick and choose where and when to do it. There are times when the traffic is moving fairly well and don't bother - while other riders still do.

You have to be very comfortable with your bike and your riding skills, enough to make emergency maneuvers if needed and your awareness has to be at a higher level than normal riding.