General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

for a beginner

Search this Thread

Old 07-01-2011, 04:21 AM
Bobber775
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default for a beginner

For a rider new to the road would it be more practical to start out on a "beginner" bike or just go for what I want?

Old 07-01-2011, 05:20 AM
Hooah09
Cruiser

Well, if you wanted to be "practical," I would absolutely say to start out with a beginner bike (whatever you may consider that to be).

That being said, however, when I started riding I went with exactly what I wanted. I had never ridden a single mile on a motorcycle in my life, but I went out and bought a brand spanking new Harley. To me, my "beginner bike" was what I wanted. Now I have no idea what your circumstances are, but I say that you only live once, so why should you waste your time settling for a bike you don't really want--you'll just spend all your time thinking about the bike that you don't have!

(And I haven't regretted my decision for an instant!)

Last edited by Hooah09; 07-01-2011 at 05:23 AM.
Old 07-01-2011, 05:29 AM
Challenger
Road Master
Received 9 Likes on 6 Posts

20 somthing years ago I rode a buddys V65 magna. Only time I have ridden a bike untill this year. I bought a 1200C sportster. I wanted a dyna of some sort.. Went for the XL instead, Now I am going to keep the sportster but am looking for a Road King.

I'm glad I bought the sporty but if the wife was against multiple bikes I would have regreted "being stuck" with it. Get what you want.

Old 07-01-2011, 05:53 AM
cochon
Road Warrior
Received 43 Likes on 32 Posts