General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

15K service done myself.

Search this Thread

Old 06-26-2011, 06:39 PM
Tconnors810
Cruiser
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default 15K service done myself.

Let me start by saying if I can do this anybody can. When I called my fiancé to tell her I was done, the only thing she said was “does it start?” So I’m no mechanic

I decided for a lot of reasons that I was going to do the services myself. The 15K was due and the plugs weren’t changed at the 10K so I figured I’d do the plugs and the wires along with the 15K service.

After some research I decided on the Fix My Hog DVD, very well explained and perfect for a guy like me, along with the service manual. I went with Mobile 1 15/50 for the engine and Formula + for the primary and the tranny. Seems to run quieter and shift smoother, easier to find neutral. The only thing that I didn’t do was adjust the clutch; it works how I like it so I didn’t see any reason to mess with it. I did have a buddy come over to help, he’s no more of a mechanic than I am, but it always helps to have a second pair of hands. The hardest part was changing the spark plug wires, total pain in the butt.

Total cost was $561 and it took about 4 hrs. total. But that includes the lift, dvds, manual, and lifetime supply of Loctite! The next services should be very cheap, under a $100 and much faster now that I’m comfortable with it and know what I’m doing.

Got some very good prices on some stuff but paid too much for others, overall I’m very happy with how it all turned out. The Harbor Freight lift was very stable, but you need the added wheel chuck and I would suggest someone with you to help put it on the lift. If anyone is thinking of doing it yourself, I’d say go for it!

Can someone tell me if the plugs look OK they have at least 10K on them. They seem OK to me but I really don’t know.

Harbor freight lift $279