General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Your suggestions, please

Search this Thread

Old 06-10-2011, 01:51 PM
Tomcat74
Novice
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Your suggestions, please

First a little info. The wife and I have decided its time to get a bike. I have very little experience on a street bike, mostly dirt and ATV. I'm going to take a rider course at a local dealer. What I'd like is suggestions on type of bike to get. I'm 6' 225 lbs. She's 5"10" 150 lbs. I'll ride it to work by myself, but we want to go together as well. Cruising town and the occasional weekend trip of 200 or so miles in a day. Tell me your experience/ opinions based on comfort (both of us), handling, acceleration, ease of riding (remember, I'm new at this), etc. We're looking at used bikes and would like to stay under $12k. Would prefer to stay in the dyna or softail family. Also like the Street Glide, but they seem to be EVERYWHERE! Want to be a little different, as well. Thanks for the help. If you get a chance, come to west Michigan in the summer. Great rides are all around here! Stay safe!

Old 06-10-2011, 02:08 PM
lp johnny
Road Captain

I don't see how you could go wrong with a softail heritage..or deluxe..or properly dressed a fatboy...that said, a road king would fit the bill..I prefer the softails myself though..dynas are nice..but I'd think you'd be happier on the softails...always worth renting for the weekend!

Old 06-10-2011, 02:17 PM
rpbrown
Road Warrior
Received 11 Likes on 10 Posts

Originally Posted by lp johnny
I don't see how you could go wrong with a softail heritage..or deluxe..or properly dressed a fatboy...that said, a road king would fit the bill..I prefer the softails myself though..dynas are nice..but I'd think you'd be happier on the softails...always worth renting for the weekend!