General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

How to waterproof my leather jacket

Search this Thread

Old 05-17-2011 | 05:33 PM
Kytann
|
Cruiser
Default How to waterproof my leather jacket

I'm asking. I've never done it before, and I've been caught in a few rainstorms where the jacket seems to soak up the water, not repel it.

It's a First Gear, not that that detail matters much, that I got used several years ago, so it's probably 10 years old now.

I'm picturing something like a $20 waterproof oil or something that I rub onto the leather?

Old 05-17-2011 | 05:37 PM
faber
Ultimate HDF Member

Most rain gear is sized to wear over jackets. It costs more than $20, but it is waterproof.

Even with some kind of silicone-based sealer or the like, I'd be worried about the seams.

But maybe someone here knows different/better.

Old 05-17-2011 | 05:41 PM
alkay191
Ultimate HDF Member
Old 05-17-2011 | 05:51 PM
Kytann
|
Cruiser

Yeah I own a rain suit. It's a pain in the *** to pack and bring with me and stop and put it on, then it stops raining 2 miles down the road, etc.

I'm asking about the million and a half different products that you rub on leather and they make it water resistant. (Resistant is a better description for what I'm looking for than proof anyway).

Right now my jacket feels soft and supple when it's dry, but seems to soak up water like a sponge when it gets wet.

I've got a set of Fox Creek Leather Overpants which are both soft, supple, and water beads up on the surface of the leather when it rains. I"m looking for something to make the leather on my jacket do the same thing.

Old 05-17-2011 | 06:16 PM
mrfikser
Outstanding HDF Member

all the greasy ones work pretty much the same..the silicone ones don't seem to do anything...there is some stuff called nikwax that is suppose to be good...I use a rainsuit..if its cold out I put it over my leather stuff..