General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Sportster for 1st Bike?

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2011, 01:34 PM
HogMan349
Novice
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Sportster for 1st Bike?

I'm a new guy here and I've read some old threads about beginner bikes, but I thought I'd get some active posters' opinions on my situation.

I have no experience with motorcycles (I probably haven't even ridden a bicycle in probably 15 years) but I want to learn to ride. I've decided to take the local MSF course as a start, just to make sure it's something I enjoy.

Having said that, I've already started considering beginner bikes. I'm about 6'0 and 275, so I'm a bigger guy. My gut (no pun intended) tells me to go with a smaller used Yamaha V-Star 650 or a Honda Shadow 750 just because it'll be more forgiving if I get loose with the throttle while learning and because I won't be so upset if/when I take a spill.

But, I'm really interested in an 883 Sportster, even though it's a little pricier and packs more of a punch. Any thoughts/suggestions?

Old 04-20-2011, 01:38 PM
fordaith
Tourer
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

I was in the same boat as you not too long ago. I bought a used 05 XL1200C. Didn't have a problem with it. Just don't let it beat you.

Old 04-20-2011, 01:38 PM
sm0kediver
Road Warrior
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Buy a gently used rice burner and get some miles under your belt. When you have some level of mastery, sell the used bike for what you have in it, and step up to a Harley. You won't be out anything but gas and insurance on the beater.

Old 04-20-2011, 01:39 PM
Hollywood Ball
Outstanding HDF Member

Take the class and do a self assessment of your skills. Get the bile you want based on that.

I took the MSF course a year before getting my bike. I was a "natural," so I went and got what I wanted, a 2009 Night Train.

Old 04-20-2011, 01:44 PM
rdb1976
Road Master