General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Question about Slip-Ons and full pipes

Search this Thread

Old 04-13-2011, 01:14 PM
Sonicgazi
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Question about Slip-Ons and full pipes

Ok, this might be a dumb question, but I figured this would be the place to ask. What are the advantages/disadvantages of slip-ons as opposed to a full set of pipes? I've been pinching pennies for a few months in order to get a new set of pipesfor my 2008 Super Glide. I've got one friend who says a full set isn't worth it and that slip-ons are the way to go to save money and get about the same performance as full pipes and I got another friend who says skip the slip-ons and save up the extra $$$ for the full pipes cause I'll get better performance out of them as opposed to the slip-ons. Just wondering what your guys input is before I go out and make a purchase. What are the advantages/disadvantages of each option?

Thanks!

Old 04-13-2011, 02:47 PM
paulies 07
Road Captain

I have an 07 WG with Rush slip ons, with 2 1/4 inch baffles, couldn't be happier, my friend Ralph at my local dealer where I bought my bike said, "if you don't have to replace your
fu&%ing head pipe, why bother? your just throwing away your fu%@ing money

Old 04-13-2011, 03:39 PM
mikebell_eng
Cruiser

just put the vance and hines slip on's on my '10 fat boy, It feels like a difference but I haven't dyno'd it or anything. Sure does sound alot better! My dealer told me the same thing about slip on's vs full system. He said if I went full exhaust that I should replace the filter with a stg 1 heavy breather and the download. I wasn't ready to throw away $1000 just to get 5 hp.

Old 04-13-2011, 03:42 PM
Talldog
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 47 Likes on 33 Posts

Originally Posted by Sonicgazi