General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

I want to be able to tinker and do projects with my bike, but....

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-2011, 05:30 PM
Brave93
Novice
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I want to be able to tinker and do projects with my bike, but... (Update Pg3)

I have no experience. I'm a new biker (since last summer) and have an 05 Softail Springer and now want to start doing some upgrades with it.

First I want to put new grips, but I'm a bit intimidated about screwing with the throttle cables. I want to eventually put a heavy breather on it as well.

If I purchased the service manual, would that educate me well enough to begin to do some of these small projects?

With that being said, I see service manuals on ebay for $45 (+$8 shipping). Seems the dealer wants $60 for them. Are there other places to purchase a manual, even used?

Thanks and stay safe.

Last edited by Brave93; 04-02-2011 at 09:55 PM. Reason: UPDATE
Old 03-26-2011, 05:45 PM
SurfGuitar141
Tourer

Can't remember where on the internet I found it, but I got the Clymer manual for my bike, $45.00 + shipping....

Covers anything I'd be willing to tackle and then a whole lot more.....

Old 03-26-2011, 05:48 PM
Ridewva
Grand HDF Member
Received 387 Likes on 219 Posts

Originally Posted by Brave93
I
If I purchased the service manual, would that educate me well enough to begin to do some of these small projects?
IMO you'll need the manual and a decent quality set of tools including 1/4, 3/8, and 1/2 torque wrenches. If you don't get all three, 3/8 is prolly the most useful so start with it. Take your time and you'll do well!

Old 03-26-2011, 05:49 PM
Zig Zag 2010
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

------------------

Last edited by Zig Zag 2010; 11-08-2011 at 12:12 PM.
Old 03-26-2011, 06:18 PM
roadking2000
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 128 Likes on 101 Posts