General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

A lesson in Stage1

Search this Thread

Old 02-28-2011, 09:02 PM
Zac Strayer
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A lesson in Stage1

Please bare with me as i had done my searches as i have sean many request we should do this and there is many threads on stage1 process.

Let me start by saying that i am pretty smart and understand things well. but i am new to the cycle world when it comes to Harely's. Since i have benn planning a new purchase for the last couple months i have been reading the hell out of these forums learning alot and even getting some owner manuals i can get my hands on from the web to see how their built and such.

But i need a lesson in understanding when,how and if you need a stage1 and what does stage2 consist of? if there is a stage2. lol

for example "and i could use this in 5th grade terms" so i dont need to ask more questions and waste your time.

Correct me if i am wrong.. if i put on a new a/c for better looks i need a stage1? or do i need too.. could i run without it or would it harm the bike?
what if i dont mess with the a/c and decide to just slap on some new full v/h exhausts. would i have to get a stage1? if not wold that harm the bike?
what other mods if i did would need me to get a stage1?
and so im sure a stage1 consists of a ECU and a tune since the a/c is breathing more air right?

you knwo what would be awesome if someoen could get me a link that would discribe exactly what they do and when i should do them or if i need too. that would be most appreciated.

Thsnkd for your time.

You can't Learn if you don't ask!
Zac

Old 02-28-2011, 09:24 PM
2012UltraLimited
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

try this link might be a little outdated but gives you the idea. . good luck

http://www.hdtalking.com/harley_davi...explained.html

Old 02-28-2011, 09:25 PM
Brewtality