General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Biker Culture or Harley Culture?

Search this Thread

Old 02-18-2011, 11:13 AM
Robotech
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Biker Culture or Harley Culture?

This is not meant to turn into some ugly argument (though it probably will...nature of internet forums) but rather something to spark some thought and discussion on the subject.

I'm new to riding and still am learning a lot about "the lifestyle". I have seemed to notice though that there is a certain culture surrounding those that own Harleys. While other types and brands of motorcycles have their own "groups" of riders bonded by their machines it seems like, with Harley, this bond is much bigger, much stronger, and much more ingrained into owners than any other.

I'm wondering why? Then I read this in another discussion:

Originally Posted by schumacher
I was raised around 70's bikers (both my father and uncle rode), and the one thing they taught me was the brotherhood was about the man, not the machine. I'll continue doing what i was taught by those boys back in the 70's, whether it's still popular or not.