General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Thanks MSF!

Search this Thread

Old 01-24-2011, 05:08 PM
Voony
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Thanks MSF!

Dear Colleagues,

I wanted to share with you a few stories about my first 6 months of riding and how I'm glad I took the MSF course.

Before I took the class, I had a 125cc dual-purpose bike and I thought I knew how to ride (I would just ride in my neighborhood and on trails). Then came the time for me to buy a Harley. Many on this forum recommended that I take the MSF course, so I listened and I did and I'm glad I did.

I have been riding my Sporty for 6 months already in DC. And thanks to the training I received at the MSF I managed to have "near misses" and not "I gotcha this time!".

The first time I almost **** in my pants was when I was waiting at a red light at a round about. Cars were also waiting at another red light, on the round about, and were located on my left side. When the light went green, I squeezed the throttle and entered the round about. I had the right of way, but that lady in her SUV talking on the phone didn't care much. Thankfully I noticed the headlights moving on my left side, turned my head and had a "how sh#t" moment and squeezed the throttle a bit more and made an evasive maneuver so that the SUV will not hit the rear of my bike. I didn't get T-Boned. I was so upset and hyper that I started to follow the SUV, stopped next to it...and that is another story