General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

putting the engine back together

Search this Thread

Old 12-31-2010 | 09:46 PM
pleasants9
|
Cruiser
Default putting the engine back together

i took the engine of my 92 1200 sportser apart before break and left the jugs, pistons, and valves at the machince shop to be bead blasted, bored, and painted. Any tips or things i should be aware of while putting the engine back together? This is my first time.

Old 12-31-2010 | 10:00 PM
yljkt
Banned

Originally Posted by pleasants9
i took the engine of my 92 1200 sportser apart before break and left the jugs, pistons, and valves at the machince shop to be bead blasted, bored, and painted. Any tips or things i should be aware of while putting the engine back together? This is my first time.
Buy a book by Buzz Buzzelli called High Performance Sportsters and read it.

Last edited by yljkt; 01-01-2011 at 03:09 PM.
Old 12-31-2010 | 10:11 PM
babalu
Outstanding HDF Member

it's easy as long as you have a manual and torque wrench. if you don't have either of those it will definitely complicate things.

seriously get the manual, it takes you from putting new rings on and how to space them, torque specs for the heads and putting the rockers back on. don't try to re-assemble the engine without a manual if you've never done it before.

Old 01-01-2011 | 07:06 AM
pleasants9
|
Cruiser

I have the harley davidson shop manual for my specific bike so I not going in there completely blind, should i still look for other works of literature on the matter?

Old 01-01-2011 | 07:37 AM
roadkingharry
Road Captain