General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Took Advanced Rider's Course for Sportbike Riders

Search this Thread

Old 12-22-2010, 09:48 PM
Shaved Ice
Road Warrior
Received 55 Likes on 46 Posts
Default Took Advanced Rider's Course for Sportbike Riders

I took the Advanced Rider's Course for Sportbike Riders today. It is a Motorcycle Safety Foundation course and the Army paid for it. I was the only Harley rider there on my Street Bob. I have been riding for 26 years and I still learned a few riding skills. I out-rode several guys on "superior performance" machines. Scraped the heel of my boots while still on my mid controls a few times. Overall, not a bad day in the Army.

The only problem I had was the other riders. I admire a good sportsbike more than your average Harley rider and when I would try to establish common ground by playing up their bikes, they were all about it. At no time did ANY of the other riders even attept to return the favor to speak well of Harley. The instructors on the other hand...two had Harleys. Three instructors total came up and commented on how good my bike looked and how well I was riding. I know, not real modest, but hey, kinda proud of myself and I had fun.

Let me finish by saying that if you get any chance to attend any advanced motorcycle training, take it. Experience alone does not equal increased competence.

Old 12-22-2010, 10:01 PM
SouthernGuy8503
Road Master
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm like you about crotch rockets. They're not my thing but I do respect them. I doubt I'll ever have one. If I were to get one it would have to be a Hayabusa or Ducati.

Hell even when I worked at a Harley shop for a little bit I walked in and the other 2 parts guys were talking about crotch rockets, at the time I was 19 and I was the type to not care about anything I didn't like so I was like wtf? But now I would have talked about it with them.