General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

First bike suggestions..

Search this Thread

Old 09-24-2006, 02:49 AM
oi2342001
Novice
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First bike suggestions..

Hi all,

I found this forum a few days ago and have been on it almost none stop. This is great stuff you guys have here, tons of info about everything Harley related. My question is about a first bike. I got my license a couple years ago and passed the MSF course getting the best course score in my group (only 6 peolpe but I am still proud and it would have been perfect but I stopped 3 feet past the stop line at the end [:@]) and I haven't been on a bike since then. As a lot of you know also we rode in a parking lot so I have no "real" riding experience. I really want to get a Harley (probably a sportser) but I am having second thought about it for my first bike. I'm thinking that I should get a rice burner instead (def not my first or second choice but I wont have to worry about dropping it or messing up some shiney chrome). I still have at least a year before I get something (I am a sr. in college and would like to get something after I graduate), but I've been looking for a couple years now and now I'm really getting serious about it.

Also if I get a Harley I would get a new one or slightly used one. If I get a rice burner I wouldn't mind getting one used just something to learn on. So what I'm getting at is do you guys and gals think it would be best to go with a rice burner to learn on or a Harley.

Thanks,
Mike

Old 09-24-2006, 02:53 AM
Taildraggerdave
Road Captain
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: First bike suggestions..

Get the Harley.
If you get a Metric, then whenever you ride, and whomever you meet, you'll always be saying that you wanted the HD but settled for the other. Get the HD you want the first time. If money is an issue then wait until it isn't.