General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Helmet Questions....

Search this Thread

Old 10-13-2010, 06:10 PM
stevekolt
Intermediate
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Helmet Questions....

Mods, please move and accept my apologies if this is the wrong place for this post.

I have previously always worn a full face helmet when riding. I'm now awaiting delivery of a new Fat Boy in Chrome Yellow after not riding for the last 7-8 years. Have long ago gotten rid of my old helmet as well as my wifes. The bucket helmets look comfortable, but how much protection can they offer? I'd really like to hear some opinions on this issue.

Going without a helmet is not an option for me, both due to where I live, and what I do for a living.

Old 10-13-2010, 06:14 PM
Bluegrasser
Road Master
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

All up to you. You'll lose your teeth and/or jaw if you faceplant, but you'll not be encumbered by all the stuff in your face so you'll probably be more comfortable. I don't wear a helmet unless I have to and when I do it's a half helmet. There is also the modular full face if you want to be able to lift the chin bar and face shield up to talk to people.

Old 10-13-2010, 06:20 PM
Jus Cruisin
Advanced

I have all three helmet styles (full, 3/4 and half) and there are times for all. Full for cool temps and long, fast rides, 3/4 for warmer weather and intercom use and half (sometimes none) when it is 90+ with the extreme humidity we get down here in Florida. Obviously a full helmet offers the best protection and goes down with the less helmet you wear.
You gotta make the decision yourself.

Old 10-13-2010, 06:42 PM
2kids3pets
Elite HDF Member
Received 14 Likes on 11 Posts

I too have all three but I'm seriously considering dumping my half, I do like the feel of the half but have concern on how my mellon would react hitting the pavement with it on.

Old 10-13-2010, 06:43 PM
TxCowboy