General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

When is it time to "hang 'em up"

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2010, 06:18 PM
lencap
Cruiser
Received 12 Likes on 4 Posts
Default When is it time to "hang 'em up"

I've been riding for nearly 40 years and have had many bikes. It was only within the last five years that I've owned a Harley and I've had three since then.

I've enjoyed the bikes, but I've never really fit well on any of them. I've also had several surgeries over the years, and my body isn't able to do what it did when I was younger.

Today I just got my bike back from the dealer, after installing new risers to try to get a better fit. Well, the risers help, but I'm still not fully comfortable.

So, for the first time, I'm considering if it's time to give up riding. Don't get me wrong, I'm not considering it because my handlebars aren't perfect - it's a lot of things.

My wife doesn't ride with my any longer, she isn't comfortable. Can't say I blame her - she has arthritis and tires easily. When I want to take a ride with her on the weekends, most times she only stays with me for a short ride and then she's had enough. I also spend a lot of time with my grandson, and as much as riding is fun, it doesn't compare to spending time with him. I've also realized that after a three hour run I'm pretty beat - and sometimes I'm pretty sore as well.

Adding it all up, I'm not sure if it's time to sell the bike and move on. I've had 40 years of riding enjoyment, and without jinxing myself, I've managed to keep the rubber side down all those years.

Anyone else been in a similar situation, and if you have, what did you decide?

Old 10-08-2010, 06:25 PM
lionsm13
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 75,120 Likes on 22,588 Posts

Get an 09 or newer used tri-glide. Many have done that on this site and appear to be quite comfortable...Your wife might even enjoy it more...