General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Ape Hanger Recommendations

Search this Thread

Old 09-30-2010, 08:52 AM
prattbratt
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ape Hanger Recommendations

Just want to know what handlebar manufacturers you all have used and recommend. I'm planning on replacing my stock handlebars on my 2008 Sportster with a set of 14" apes. Looking at both pre-installed wiring/controls versus just buying the handlebar bar along with a cable/hose kit. A company with great customer service (both before and after the purchase) is a must as I live in Korea and can't "kick the tires" before I buy.

Thanks,
Mark

Old 09-30-2010, 09:02 AM
prattbratt
Advanced

BTW - attached is a "before" picture. This is my first time posting a picture, so I'm not sure if it will work.

Attached Thumbnails Ape Hanger Recommendations-2_mhp_0354.jpg  
Old 09-30-2010, 09:33 AM
junior07
Road Master
Received 89 Likes on 52 Posts

Nice lookin sporty.

I am in the process of upgrading my bars as well. Not installed yet, but ordered the Burly 14" 1 1/4' apes.

http://www.burlybrand.com/apehangers/B28-336t.aspx

I have a great indy nearby who is doing the wiring for me. He does all custom wiring to minimize the excess wiring and make the cleanest front end possible. It will cost me $$ but for the clean look, it is worth it.

Will post pics when finished.

Old 09-30-2010, 04:14 PM
wideglidebob
Elite HDF Member
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

if you want the best go with carlini`s go to there web page, there spendy but they are the best

Old 09-30-2010, 06:33 PM
Wizid
Cruiser

I had very good luck with www.wild1inc.com. The quality is very good, and they are good guys to deal with. They also provide very good tips on wiring, and doing the installation.

Old 09-30-2010, 06:35 PM
smketr7139
Cruiser
Received 1 Like on 1 Post