General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

How to adjustment a dry clutch

Search this Thread

Old 08-25-2010 | 06:09 PM
Adirondacker
|
Intermediate
Default How to adjust a dry-clutch

My new-to-me Shovelhead has a dry clutch. It seems to want to be in gear despite the clutch handle being pulled in.

Can anyone give some tips on where to start looking to adjust this.
The clutch is new installed by previous owner.

I am not a mechanic obviously but fairly good at turning a wrench and lots of desire to learn and tinker.

If you could point me in a direction I'd appreciate it.

Thanks.

Old 08-25-2010 | 06:46 PM
panz4ever
Seasoned HDF Member

With that info could be a couple of things....cable not adjusted properly, clutch lever not set to proper clearance, clutch pates sticking, clutch push rod not adjusted properly, spring tension not set properly (affects disc), lastly worn clutch hub studs (grooved so plates hang up and do not move smoothly).

Clutch cable should have 1/4" free play before clutch starts to disengage.

Clearance from starter motor to lever should be 1/2"

Clutch push rod should make contact with release bearing, release finger, then back off 1/4 turn and tighten nut.

New clutch is assembled so that the distance from the inner edge of the spring collar to the surface of the outer disc is exactly 1-1/32",

Only way to check the studs is to pull the plates.

Do these adjustments, checks with the engine completely cold (as in sitting all night)

The following users liked this post:
Harley Widow (09-04-2020)
Old 08-25-2010 | 07:00 PM
*Merlin*
Cruiser

Spend the money for an HD shop manual. Best money I ever spent. It does not take long to make a $60 mistake while working on your motorcycle.

Old 08-25-2010 | 07:21 PM
electaRICK
Extreme HDF Member

Adk!!!!

Old 08-25-2010 | 08:34 PM
Adirondacker
|
Intermediate

Originally Posted by panz4ever