Notices
General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Question about broken kick stands

Search this Thread

Old 08-22-2010, 08:39 PM
veniculum
Road Warrior
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Question about broken kick stands

I have a silly question (perhaps)...but I've been riding for over 15 years, and I've had my HD since 2005...never had a problem with a kick(jiffy) stand...but I have always wondered...what would happen if you were riding and the thing broke. I don't claim to know much about these things in terms of how they work...or more specifically, the way they are designed. I just know that HD has the best one in the industry. I know you can push on them...push the bike forward, with the stand down..and as long as it's in the 'locked' position, that thing won't fold back. Those Jap clones don't do that...or at least they didn't when I owned them.

Nonetheless...sometimes I ride and I think of silly things...like what would happen if my wheel fell off (things would be pretty bad I would think ) So the other day I thought of the kick stand breaking...as in..I'm on the side of the road, but the stand is broke and I have nothing to hold the bike up. Perhaps this is a stretch...I mean..if the spring broke, I guess the stand would still go down - and hold the bike up, no? I just thought about how ridiculous it would be sitting on the shoulder not being able to get off my bike because I have no stand.

Anyway..if my question really is silly...or at least if it's something that couldn't happen, I'd sure love to hear about it. Trust me...I don't think about these things all the time...if I did, I probably wouldn't be riding. But every now and again, this stuff enters my mind. So I figured I'd ask.

Thanks

Old 08-22-2010, 08:50 PM
ROMPUS
Road Master
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I think if the spring broke it would be in the down position and still hold the bike up