General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

MC racer killed at VIR by a 12 year old on a 250 doing 80mph?

Search this Thread

Old 08-07-2010, 06:05 PM
RandyDowdy
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default MC racer killed at VIR by a 12 year old on a 250 doing 80mph?

I am all for teaching youth to ride. But a 12 year old , on a 250 cc bike, in a race on a road course at speeds from 60 to 80mph? No phucking way! I started riding back in 77 or 78, at about age 6, but the bikes I rode were always properly sized for me. A road course at that speeds?

A North Carolina mad died today following a chain-reaction crash during the WERA Cycle Jam motorcycle race at Virginia International Raceway, according to a Virginia State Police news release.

Robert C. Gette, 38, of Charlotte, N.C., operator of a Suzuki sv650, died at the scene.
When Gette swerved to avoid a Yamaha 250 that lost control and overturned onto the track coming into Turn 14 at about 1:30 p.m., he lost control and overturned as well, according to the release.

As Gette was getting back onto his feet, he was struck by a Moriwaki 250, which was unable to avoid the downed motorcycle and its rider.

The Yamaha was operated by James Bonner of Coopersburg, Pa. Bonner was transported by ambulance to Danville Regional Medical Center for treatment of non-life threatening injuries.

The Moriwaki was operated by a 12-year-old boy from Sutton, Wv.Moriwaki was flown to Duke University Medical Center in North Carolina for treatment of serious injuries, the release stated.

All racers were wearing helmets and full race gear. Motorcycles in the race typically reach speeds between 60 and 80 mph.

No charges will be filed. Senior Trooper T.C. Comer investigated the crash.