Notices
General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Hayabusa to Dyna 1st 100 miles

Search this Thread

Old 07-03-2010, 08:56 PM
jellyrug
Banned
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hayabusa to Dyna 1st 100 miles

Noob here, took delivery today of a 2010 Dyna Superglide. The wifey and I spent the whole day riding and visiting, in short we had a blast.

Lots of questions though:

Best Harley helmet?

Riding with beany helmets (half helmet) and riding glasses, 70mph feels like 165mph on my Hayabusa and the wind noise is quite someting. I'm not a windshield person, like the nakid bike look of a Harley. So the question is, what is the best Harley helmet???

Lots of clearance in the throttle tube?

First I thought something was loose in the front end, then I realized I only feel it in the right hand and it is actually the throttle tube that clatters when riding some rough pavement. Any solution here, or after market goodies?

No helmet lock on this bike, just want to make sure I did not miss it?

I know most Harley riders don't wear protective gear of even helmets. In NC helmets are required. Do any of you bother with protective gear? Today we wore jeans with knee protectors and kevlar and leather jackets with back, elbow and shoulder protection today. What do most riders do?

Finally, I thought I would just mention that there is no comparison between a Harley and a Hayabusa, two totally different bikes with different purposes and fun in their own way. My wife riding as passenger loves the Harley much more and I can see myself staying out of trouble by riding this bike more than the Busa. This is my first Harley.

Old 07-03-2010, 09:04 PM
pococj
Seasoned HDF Member
Received 1,273 Likes on 477 Posts

Welcome to the "darkside", LOL. It'll continue to grow on ya!