General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Riding 2 up the first time

Search this Thread

Old 06-19-2010 | 11:21 PM
02rk
|
Advanced
Default Riding 2 up the first time

I have my step daughter coming into town for the first time since I got my 02 electra glide. She wants me to take her for a ride. I have been riding my bike for about six months and feel compentent but I have never riden with a passenger. Any tips to make it a safe ride for her would be appreciated, how to mount dismount etc.

Old 06-19-2010 | 11:26 PM
Silver Fox
Club Member

1)...Make sure your passenger always checks with you before they get "ON" or "OFF". If you aren't ready there's a good chance your bike will be going over.

Old 06-19-2010 | 11:31 PM
Kowan
Ultimate HDF Member

When my ex rode with me, I would tilt the bike slightly to the left and she mounted from the left. It's a 1986 FXSTC though not a bagger.

Depending on how big she is, she could use the peg/floorboard and then swing the other leg over.

Make sure your step daughter knows not to rubberneck shifting her body quickly side to side so you don't lose control while riding.
You should explain about the bike leaning in turns and you leaning with it.

Old 06-19-2010 | 11:48 PM
Bones77
Road Captain

Originally Posted by 02rk
I have my step daughter coming into town for the first time since I got my 02 electra glide. She wants me to take her for a ride. I have been riding my bike for about six months and feel compentent but I have never riden with a passenger. Any tips to make it a safe ride for her would be appreciated, how to mount dismount etc.