General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Riding in the city

Search this Thread

Old 05-25-2010, 07:21 AM
WVICEMAN
Road Captain
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Riding in the city

I started riding in the late 1970's and then got away from it while I done my twenty in the military. I retired and moved to Alaska to work as a civilian for the Army and got back into riding and bought my Harley. I left Alaska and moved to Michigan and now live in Sterling Heights north of Detroit. My question is does everyone have that pucker factor driving in city traffic? I have a short fifteen mile commute to work but a lot of intersections and heavy traffic and the only time I seem to enjoy riding now is if I head North and totally get away from all this.

Old 05-25-2010, 08:29 AM
Jim Kraft
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 115 Likes on 41 Posts

I feel your pain. I have lived in small towns most of my life. I live 2 miles from a town of about 7500 in the middle of Ks. now. I am like you and do not like riding in traffic at all. I do it some, but like the back roads around here much better, as there is very little traffic. Sometimes don't even see another vehicle for 10 or 15 miles. Laid back cruising at its best as far as I am concerned. I just enjoy the music from my drag pipes, and the sun bouncing off my headlight on my Softail Custom. It just don't get any better.

Old 05-25-2010, 09:11 AM
doghair
Road Warrior
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I have to commute from South Phoenix through downtown, no way around it. Pedestrians walking into traffic, light rail, red light runners, construction, speeders, tailgaters, lane jumpers, you name it.

Usually a high profanity ride. I'll take the 6 any old day.

Old 05-25-2010, 09:34 AM
WVICEMAN
Road Captain
Received 1 Like on 1 Post