General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Quick question on V&H install.

Search this Thread

Old 05-19-2010, 07:36 AM
MJHJEA
Road Warrior
Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
Default Quick question on V&H install.

Call me a tight-wad, I don't mind. My staggereds are arriving tommorrow from Dennis Kirk, $489 no shipping. I also purchased the sensor plugs and port gaskets for my 06 Deluxe. I was going to take it to an indy, then thought, hey, I'm a smart guy, I'll do the install myself. More $$ to be saved. Just came in from the garage and all I'm seeing on the bike is some bolts. I've also read the pipes come with good instructions. Can I do this myself, need another set of hands,etc.? I'm not a mechanic, but I'm not stupid either. If there's even a slight chance of mucking it up good I won't attempt it. Please give me some good advice, thanks.

Old 05-19-2010, 07:53 AM
CADguy
Road Captain
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I would imagine you should be able to install the pipes. Take your time and make sure not to strip any threads. Get everything in place and lined up, then tighten all the bolts.

Only thing I can think of, is, having the bike reprogrammed if your running FI.

Good luck on the install.

Old 05-19-2010, 08:01 AM
County98
Tourer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

You can do it. Need some basic wrenches/sockets with maybe universal & extensions.

Put a blanket or something on the floor, holding the pipes with one hand, positioning the header with the other, getting the gasket in there and starting the nut with the OTHER 3rd hand...lol. Gets heavy.

Get a service manual for your bike is always a good idea, and WILL pay for itself.

Good luck and ask questions if you get stuck. Good luck!

Old 05-19-2010, 08:46 AM
MJHJEA
Road Warrior