General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

More and more MSRP dealerships

Search this Thread

Old 06-08-2005, 02:14 AM
justjeff
Novice
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default More and more MSRP dealerships

I owned Harley's for many years, buying several new ones from Farthest North Outpost in Fairbanks, Alaska. I ended up getting into fast Japanese bikes for a while and hadn't thought about a new Harley until the V Rod came out a few years ago. I didn't like in Alaska anymore, so went into a dealership in the lower 48. They wanted 8k over list. I explained that I was a veteran, wrote letters in support of the import tax on foreign bikes over 750cc, and had owned Harley's since the not so great AMF days. They laughed and said they'd get their price all day long. I wrote a letter to Harley, they sent a nice reply thanking me for years of patronage, but explaining that they allow their dealers to set the final price. It brought to mind the popularity of the Porsche Boxster when it first came out. Folks could get on the list, buy it for MSRP and sell it the next day for at least 20k more than they paid for it. Porsche respected their customers enough that they wouldn't allow their dealers to gouge them. I thought that showed a lot of class.