General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Please Help if you can

Search this Thread

Old 08-01-2006, 12:00 AM
Mr. Incognito
Advanced
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Please Help if you can

I need to know something but for some reason no one seems able or willing to answer me. First off let me tell you what I am working with.
I have a 2005 XL883c (Totally Stock, no upgrades at all, not even slip ons at this point.) that I intend to have the 1200 conversion done to. What I want to know is this.

1.) "Will the 1200 conversion change the top speed of the bike or not?" (Note: I do not need or want a speedy speedy bike per se I am just wondering.)
2.) "I currently ride the freeway on occassion, but because I dont have a Tach and I am not a mechanic I could not tell you what RPM's I am running the bike at. I would therefore like to know, if I do the 1200 conversion will freeway speeds be easier on my bike or not?"

Thank you for any responses I get. I asked the same question at another board but I guess it was filled with mechanics who love to take their bikes to the track or something, because they kept directing me to the 1250 kit that NHRS makes, and kept telling me about ignition modules, heads, and Cams and all kinds of things I know Nothing about, strangely no one could gimmie a straight answer to the above questions. [sm=WTFsgign.gif]

Old 08-01-2006, 12:09 AM
Rhubarb
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: Please Help if you can

You're top speed will change but even as an 883 you should get into the 100's.

The rpm's will be the same, so your feeling of the motor revving high will still be there. That's controlled by gearing.
You will be quicker to freeway speeds, especially 2-up.

You can cruise all day long at 70+ on your 883, so I'm not quite sure what you are asking...

Hope that helps.

Old 08-01-2006, 12:35 AM
Rhubarb
Ultimate HDF Member