General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Setting up memorial run/Relay for life fundraiser run in my dads memory CLUELESS

Search this Thread

Old 03-12-2010 | 09:34 AM
lastson
|
Tourer
Default Setting up memorial run/Relay for life fundraiser run in my dads memory CLUELESS

Background. My father battled cancer for the last 2 years and passed away July 17th 2009. We had it beat and then it came back with a vengeance and from the aggresive chemo his small intestine burst and surgery after surgery couldn't fix it. Had to watch the strongest toughest man I have ever known waste away in front of my eyes.

I'm doing the American Cancer Society Relay for life 3rd year in a row and this time I can participate more due to not having to be back and forth to TN for surgeries/treatments. I have no experience or a clue where to begin in scheduleing setting up, something like a benefit/memorial run. Wont be to far. I mean i am in Delaware not alot of room to ride lol. But i wanna do something for my pops ya know and raise money for my team. If any of you have done something similar please let me know and any pointers would be much much friggin welcome. Thanks guys/gals.

Old 03-12-2010 | 09:59 AM
lastson
|
Tourer

Anyone?

Old 03-12-2010 | 10:47 AM
WildBill_50
Road Master

I would suggest going down to a local Dealership and talk with them. They have experience in setting up an event and I would think they would want to be part of a good cause like this.

My experience of setting up an event is that it is easier and better if you have an organization of some type behind you.

Hope this helps.

Old 03-12-2010 | 10:53 AM
Blargh
Road Captain

if you're doing it for ACS you can contact their fundraising arm and see what assistance they can provide - or as above, if you're keeping it local the dealership or HOG may be able to assist you better than the national organization.