General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

I hate Gravel Driveways!

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2006, 08:08 PM
fatboy4ever
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I hate Gravel Driveways!

I have been riding now for 15 years and I NEVER dropped my bike! I knew it was only a matter of time, but why did I have to drop my NEW 06 Fatboy on my friends gravel driveway? Is the world against me? I was leaving my friends house and coming down his 20 Degree Gravel driveway, (it always) made me a little nervous, and of course instead of using my rear brakes and front together (like you should), I hit my front ones, the gravel gives way and forces my bike and me into a precarious situation. My new lindby bars are now imbedded deep into the gravel, and I can't upright the bike because of the front tire is turned into the gravel down this steep incline, not to mention that she is in gear! I cut kill switch and yell for my buddy to help out . . . I am feeling like such an idiot. The only thing that is going through my mind is that my "wife is going to kill" me when she sees the repair bill! We uprighted the bike, and as luck would have it, (as if I had any), the only scratch was on the base of the floor board mounts. Nothing on the bars! I was contemplating not putting the crash bars on, but in this case they saved me a boat load of money! Anybody else have a bad experience with gravel driveways? It would make me feel better that I not the only one out there!

Old 07-23-2006, 08:13 PM
Yellotang
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: I hate Gravel Driveways!

I have a 60 foot gravel driveway. Never set it down there. But I did set it down in my front yard racing through the grass trying to out-dodge a sprinkler and slipped on a wet railroad tie.

BTW. Don't ask, you'll be glad you didn't.

Old 07-23-2006, 08:15 PM
grunt
Extreme HDF Member
Received 1 Like on 1 Post