General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Young Guy Getting 1st Bike. ADVICE PLEASE!

Search this Thread

Old 12-21-2009, 08:07 AM
MattMoney
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Young Guy Getting 1st Bike. ADVICE PLEASE!

I am a 24 year old teacher in Charlotte NC, looking to buy my first bike. Naturally I don't have a whole lot of money so am looking to spend about $3000 on a bike. I have been shopping around online and have found several possibilities and have a couple questions:

1. Is it better to buy privately or from a dealer? I know dealers are more expensive but are there bikes more realiable etc?
2. Would it be better to wait until I can afford a nicer bike or is $3000 a good place to start for a 1st bike?
3. I found a 1970 sportster for sale for $2000, would that be a bad 1st bike? I know they are harder to work on etc. I would be doing my own work and am fairly mechanically minded. Does that price seem right?
4. What about a 97 sportster 883? Had the best reviews I found of the 90's bikes and I like the look.
5. How is progressive for insurance?

Thanks a lot ahead of time for any help.

Old 12-21-2009, 08:18 AM
teedubya
Road Master
Received 11 Likes on 6 Posts

It wil be your FIRST bike? If so get something small, not an EG or Road King. It doesn't have to be a HD to learn on. The smaller metrics are cheaper to learn on and can usually be sold after you get comfortable on two wheels. Riding a bike is not like driving a car. There is more to it than just getting on it and riding down the street. Alot of new riders in my area say that the MSF begginners coarse was well worth the money. I learned on smaller dirt bikes and rode both on the dirt and highways while learning. I'm sure there will be many opinions on your post. Stay safe and be smart.

Old 12-21-2009, 08:25 AM
car5car
Banned