General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Brake Pads for Polished Rotors

Search this Thread

Old 10-30-2009, 12:18 PM
Figstr
Road Captain
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Brake Pads for Polished Rotors

I started polishing my rear rotor the other day and for those of you have polished aluminum from scratch know how time consuming and labor intensive it can be. Well, I decided to save time I'd just buy polished rotors and over the summer (I'm a teacher) I'll polish them up properly and sell them. While looking at rotors on Ebay I noticed some companies recommend organic pads on polished rotors. EMG makes them but then I read they leave a lot of dust, so those are out. Any recommendation without busting my wallet?

Old 10-30-2009, 12:26 PM
DannyZ71
Extreme HDF Member
Received 16 Likes on 16 Posts

I'm confused. You're going to buy polished rotors and then polish them again over the summer in order to sell them?

If you have a super slick (polished) surface, it makes sense that the pads are going to have to be pretty soft in order to properly grip. Otherwise, they'll be useless until they've worn the polishing off the rotor.

Tires and brakes should be left alone, or only improved upon to increase performance. Not looks.

Old 10-30-2009, 12:31 PM
xxxflhrci
Extreme HDF Member
Received 24 Likes on 21 Posts

EBC Kevlars work for me. I've used them on both my stock rotors after I polished them and later when I put on el Cheapo polished rotors from eBay. I can tell no difference in the braking between polished and non-polished rotors.

Old 10-30-2009, 12:31 PM
Figstr
Road Captain

Originally Posted by DannyZ71
I'm confused. You're going to buy polished rotors and then polish them again over the summer in order to sell them?