General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

How long til riding w/passenger

Search this Thread

Old 06-06-2006, 08:57 PM
HaggisMan14
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How long til riding w/passenger

I've been riding for two months now (love it more and more every day), and find that i'm getting better with each ride. I also took the MSF course to attain my motorcycle endorsement. I was wondering how long you would all suggest waiting til carrying a passenger. A good amount of girls I know would love to jump on that back and let me take them for a ride (hopefully in more ways than one...but...) I won't yet since I feel i'm still learning. And I also know that 1) the bike handles very differently with a passenger, 2) I would need to have some extra gear (extra, smaller helmets which i don't have), 3) they would need to somewhat know what to do.

Just curious b/c I want to be safe, and i want my passengers to be safe as well.

Thanks.

Marc

Old 06-06-2006, 09:27 PM
Primo
Ultimate HDF Member
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: How long til riding w/passenger

I'd try to find a passenger for your first two-up that has had some experience at least riding on the back. Make sure she has on some good riding gear and maybe have her meet you at a deserted parking lot for some practice turns in both directions, progressively quicker stops and u-turns.

Once you feel 100% sure of your abilities and not a second sooner, head out for the highway and some fun.

The street is the last place to put some poor guinea pig on the back of your bike until you are ready.

You hurting yourself is one thing, being responsible for your passenger's safety is quite another.

Good luck,

Primo

Old 06-06-2006, 09:35 PM
Drakester
Advanced