Notices
General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Loud Pipes Research Study

Search this Thread

Old 06-14-2009, 10:38 AM
chopfury
Cruiser
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Loud Pipes Research Study

OK, I'm bothered by all the boring opinions people have about how loud pipes should be and whether they actually provide any safety benefit for motorcyclists. To that end, I have decided to conduct a research study to investigate this issue.

I am a PhD student in human factors and ergonomics and one of the areas of research in this field is safety and warning systems. I had a colleague recently conduct a study to investigate the safety of quite hybrid cars. He found that these cars are too quiet and can be a safety hazard for pedestrians. Other research has supported this. So, we can start with the idea that at least some amount of noise is important for vehicles.

My study will investigate just how much noise is important, and whether there are safety benefits to louder pipes. I haven't developed the formal research questions or hypotheses yet, and I'd love to hear some good input for the design of this type of study. This will be a side-project as my specific area of research is in human-computer interaction.

Anyway, it could be fun and hopefully actually provide some real data for once. I'm not proposing that the study will be the final word on the subject but hopefully it can direct us in the right path. I'm also not proposing that people's opinions should be heavily be influenced or changed by the results, but I do think knowledge is power.

Old 06-14-2009, 11:24 AM
nhbiker1961
Road Master
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts