General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Helmet Question

Search this Thread

Old 04-16-2009, 07:45 AM
sldavis
Road Captain
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Helmet Question

I have to wear as light a helmet as I can when in states that require them, due to several cervical disk ruptures. So I was looking at the Hybrid Ultra light at HD the other day....comes in at 1 lb 1 oz. It has a small duckbill on the back. My question is, what is the duckbill on a helmet for, is it just looks ordoes it have some function. My girlfriend has one that has a huge duckbill on the ack, and she says it keeps her hair from going everywhere, but the small one wouldn't be for that. Is it just asthetic???

Old 04-16-2009, 11:21 AM
mbwannabe1
Tourer
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm no doctor, but I'll relay my personal experience. I too have degenerated disks, but wear a full-face helmet.

I was interested in trying a half-helmet, and a friend I ride with said he had a DOT one he doesn't wear anymore -- claimed his head shook around like he had Parkinson's disease becasue of the way the wind grabbed the lip. Taking the visor off helped, but didn't solve the problem.

I'd rather carry extra weight that's stable than to have the wind yanking my head around.

Old 04-16-2009, 12:03 PM
desertclassic
Outstanding HDF Member
Received 27 Likes on 24 Posts

Look at HJC IS 33, lite, no head bobbing, and good protection.

Old 04-16-2009, 01:05 PM
Yonaton
Not Smart Enough To Be A Member of HDF

Great helmets from what I've heard and read, just a little pricey for me at the moment.
http://www.carbonfiberhelmets.com/dothelmets.htm#

As for a "duckbill", I have no idea what you're talking about. I've never seen anything like a "duckbill" or anything else sticking out the 'back' of a helmet. Got a picture or something so we know exactly what it is you're trying to convey?

Old 04-16-2009, 01:16 PM
jimmyz
Tourer