General Harley Davidson Chat Forum to discuss general Harley Davidson issues, topics, and experiences.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

thinking about becoming a K9 Cop! any advice?

Search this Thread

Old 04-10-2009, 01:46 AM
goinsideways136
Road Captain
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default thinking about becoming a K9 Cop! any advice?

I'm a Security Forces Cop in the Air Force and i was thinking about cross training to become a K9 handler. I've been in three years and feel bored doing regular patrol. I love dogs and i love the mission of the K9 cops. just wanted to know yall opinions on this job if any one here has had experience. or just tell me what you think about that job!
thanks
tom

Old 04-10-2009, 04:30 AM
xxxflhrci
Extreme HDF Member
Received 25 Likes on 22 Posts

It's a lot of work. Our guys train several days a month, have to take care of the dog at home, and ride around in a car with a stinking (literally) dog ten hours a day. The dogs aren't pets. Most of them aren't even house broken, at least ours isn't. A K9 officer told me, hey don't want to cloud their minds and teach them anything but searching.

Old 04-10-2009, 05:55 AM
runnhrd
Road Master
Received 64 Likes on 46 Posts

In the Air Force the K-9 program is not like being one on the outside. The AF program is good and will provide you with another avenue to get a better understanding of the PD line of work. The experiance you receive will be a good job item when you get out. Just remember K-9 now appear to be moving back to the old semi patrol dog operations of the Vietnam war time. You will be the first on the line checking out for IED's and other nasty things. If you plan on changing, go for it! The change will only give you more tools for your tool box.

Enjoy - retired TSGT /811X0 Old SP AFSC

Old 04-10-2009, 06:24 AM
goinsideways136
Road Captain

Originally Posted by runnhrd